The Heiress

by Ruth and Augustus Goetz
based on the novel Washington Square by Henry James


Tower Theatre, Canonbury
January 23rd - 25th, 27th - 31st and February 3rd - 7th, 1981

Cast List

Maria, the parlourmaid : Cora Tucker
Dr Austin Sloper : Dennis Adams
Mrs Lavinia Penniman, his sister : Ann Rooney
Catherine, his daughter : Hilary Strong
Mrs Elizabeth Almond, his sister : Noreen Phillips
Marion Almond, his niece : Fiona McLay
Arthur Townsend, Marion's fiancé : Richard Kinder
Morris Townsend, Arthur's cousin : Ian Kirk
Mrs Montgomery, Morris's sister : Fiona Boyle
Coachman : Richard Kinder

The Heiress


The Heiress

Production Team

Director : Penny Kirkman
Set Design : John Newton
Lighting Design : Laurence Tuerk

Stage Manager : Beryl Homer
ASM : Richard Kinder
Wardrobe : Marjorie Hogg, Quentin Withall
Sound Operator : Everard Davy
Lighting Operator : Hilary Johnson
Sound Recording : Laurence Tuerk, Penny Tuerk
Wig Care : Karen Wedlock
Spinet played by Richard Calver
Set construction : John Newton, David Holyoake, Bob Dorney, Chris Whatmore, Karen Jones, Sue Gardner, Claire Rice, Peter Bond, Trevor Hope, Julian Beavis