Son et Lumière of Canonbury Tower
by Hugh Ross Williamson
Canonbury Tower and Garden
June 26 - July 8, 1972


Voices :

Derek Mudie
LawyerTrevor Williams
Prior BoltonColin Ley
Prior FullerWilmot Bennitt
GlasierNigel Martrn
Sir John SpencerHyam Gilbert
Lord ComptonMichael Flagg
Sir Francis BaconTerence Marlow
Scots voiceCrichton Bridges
LanghamJohn White
StewardPeter Dawson
Samuel PepysFrank Smith
Ephraim ChambersHarold Bennett
James BoswellTom Tillery
David Garrick John Blanchard
Dr Samuel Johnson Jack Richman
Henderson Martyn Corbett
Washington Irving Bernard Cuffling
Oliver Goldsmith David Lawrence
Landlady Allison Purcell
Elizabeth Spencer Pamela Withers
Voice of countrywoman Celia Reynolds
Other parts played by Ruth Lesirge
Claire Barclay
Madelienne Hargreaves
Vera Lustig

Historical figures represented by :

Wilmot Bennitt
John Blanchard
Bernard Cuffling
Peter Dawson
Peter Dunne
Michael Flagg
Hyam Gilbert
David Lawrence
Colin Ley
Peter Lyons
Jack Richman
Frank Smith
David Taylor
John Turner
John White
Trevor Williams
Barry Wilson
Jo Allain
Cynthia Ashton
Claire Barclay
Joanna Fewings
Madeleine Hargreaves
Vera Lustig
Jean Martin
Rosemary Raleigh
Maureen Seal

Son et Lumière
David Lawrence & Jack Richman

Production Team
Producer : Frank Smith
Director : Don Kirkman
Music composed by Alan McCombie & played by the Prospero Ensemble (conductor Kerry Woodward)
Lighting Design : Peter Edwards

Stage Managers : Christine Nothiger, Ron Brooker
ASM : Peter Woodcock
Sound effects : Laurence Tuerk
Sound operators : Peter McGhie, Moyra Higginbottom
Lighting operators : David Holyoake, Andrew Hamilton
Follow spots : Peter Hartley, Gerald Coleman
Projectionist : Daphne Grose
Photographs of Canonbury Tower & House by John Dorsett