The Witch

by H Wiers-Jenssen, translated by John Masefield


Tavistock Little Theatre
October 7 - 8, 1938

Cast List

Absolon, Palace Chaplain : Victor Hamel
Martin, his son by a former marriage : A S Martin
Merete Beyer, his mother : Constance Fecher
Annie Pedersdotter, his wife : Madeline Durrant
Jems Scelotrup, Bishop : Alec Powis
Master Klaus, Priest in Manger : Alex Shoenberg
Master Laurentius, Priest in Fjeldberg : John Blain
Master Johannes, Priest in Fane : Patrick Bacon
Master Jorgen, Priest in St Martin's Church, Bergen : Charles Chillcot
David, Choirmaster : Peter Joseph
Leader of the Town Guards : John Blain
Second Guard : Patrick Bacon
Herlofs Marte : June Grimble
Bente, servant in Absolon's house : Marjorie Ashton
Jorund : Jane Kaye
Sacristans : Richard O'Donogue, Gerald FitzGerald
Townspeople : Iris Snowman, Dora Woolgar, Carrol Jackson, Dorothy Frazer Nash, Sheila Cave

And the Choir from St Mary-of-the-Angels' Song School under the direction of J Knighton Robinson

The Witch

Production Team

Director : Osmond Raphael
Settings from Designs by Guy Sheppard

Stage Manager : Alastair Lucas
Set construction in the Theatre Workshop under the direction of the Theatre Stage Managers, Sidney Green & Neale Philips