The Insect Play

by Karel & Josef Capek, translated by Paul Selver


Tavistock Little Theatre
June 7 - 8, 1935

Cast List

Prologue : The Roadside
The Tramp : William Avenell
Lepidoterist : Jack Newmark
Butterfly Ballet : Ivan Alderman, Janet Harvey

Part 1: The Butterflies
Felix : Michael Rose
Otto : William Weller
Iris : Joan Arnall
Clytie : Peggy Watson
Victor : David Clyne
Other Butterflies : Marjorie Dormer, Iris Snowman, John Francis, Dorothy Fox, Reggie Watson, Maxwell Relton, Vida Hope, Lawrence Kirk

Part 2 : The Creepers & Crawlers
Beetle Dance invented by the Director & executed by : Pat Kidman
Chrysalis : Janet Harvey
Mr Beetle : Jack Newmark
Mrs Beetle : Reggie Watson
Ichneumon Fly : Michael Rose
Larva : Vida Hope
Mr Cricket : Richard Lydall
Mrs Cricket : Dorothy Fox
Parasite : V C Walter

Part 3 : The Ants
Ants : E Allen, W Allen, A Edwards, V Jensen, W Isaac, G Isaac, J Morris, A Morris, A Beck, G Swaine, S Cook
Chief Engineer Ant : Maxwell Relton
2nd Engineer : Jack Richman
Blind Ant : A C Beck
Inventor : V C Walter
Signal Officer : Vincent Haw
Journalist : Iris Snowman
Philanthropist : Peggy Watson
Messenger : William Watson
2nd Messenger : John Carmody
Commander of the Yellows : Michael Rose
1st Snail : V C Walter
2nd Snail : Jack Newmark
Moth Ballet : Ivan Alderman, Jack Wilson

Epilogue : The Roadside again
Woodcutter : Richard Lydall
Woman : Joan Arnall
Production Team

Director : Robert Mitchell
Costumes : Winifred Fecher & Iseult Christie
Interval music under direction of Emil Oesterley

Stage Manager : Henry York
ASM : A Reeves