The Rose Without a Thorn

by Clifford Bax


Tavistock Little Theatre
June 30 & July 1, 1933

Cast List

Katheryn Howard : Janet Harvey
Katherine Tilney : Eileen Smith
Francis Derham : Charles Reading
Margery Morton : Greta Dick
Anne of Cleves : Vida Hope
Mary Lassells : Dorothy Fox
Thomas Culpeper : W Hudson Smith
Henry the Eighth : Alec Clunes
Thomas Cranmer, Archbishop of Canterbury : William Avenell
John Lassells : Frank Smith
The Earl of Hertford : Oliver Gledhill
Sir Thomas Audley, Lord Chancellor : Robert Mitchell
Four Dancers in a Masque
Paris : Ivan Alderman
Juno : Ernestine Pollock
Minerva : Phyllis White
Venus : Ann Francis
1st Player : Richard Townsend
2nd Player : Jack Newmark
3rd Player : Stanley Dean
  The Rose Without a Thorn
This hand-tinted photograph is the earliest picture in our archive of one of our productions.

Production Team

Director : Robert Mitchell
Assistant Director : Freda Pietersen
Set Design & Construction : Charles Reading
Musicians : Ida Bass (violin), Freda Pietersen (piano)

Stage Manager : Henry York
ASM : Stanley Dean
Wardrobe : Beatrice Gooch